Returning non-const pointers to private class members - Architecture Questions

Started by
9 comments, last by Shaarigan 2 years, 11 months ago

I've been refactoring the codebase for the engine I've been working on for the past several years, and have realized I may have made a grave architectural mistake. I started out by going back and adding const in areas that I had ignored prior just to get something working…which led me to eventually question the fact that I'm returning non-const pointers to private class members from a couple of my classes. Before I explain any further the following is a graph I made which outlines all Classes and their members where `App` is a singleton which encapsulates all logic and controls the loop: https://stashcube.com/vel-flowchart.pdf

So for example my Scene class contains `std::vector` members for all assets which are used for that scene instance. I then provide methods which dereference positions in those vectors to return raw pointers to individual assets. This allows for these values to be stored contiguously in memory. The raw pointers are then used by other elements (all of which would go out of scope prior to Scene).

However, this breaks encapsulation as these vectors are declared as private members within Scene as I do not wish for values to be added without going through a setter as additional logic is required for some at the time they are added into their corresponding containers. Below is my header file for a Scene:

namespace vel
{
	class Scene
	{
	private:
		std::vector<Shader>					shaders;
		std::vector<Mesh>					meshes;
		std::vector<Texture>				textures;
		std::vector<Material>				materials;
		std::vector<Animation>				animations;
		std::vector<Renderable>				renderables;
		std::vector<Armature>				armatures;
		std::vector<Stage>					stages;

double								animationTime;

protected:
		size_t								loadShader(std::string name, std::string vertFile, std::string fragFile);
		void								loadMesh(std::string path);