I got a publisher deal from a non-gamedev startup. Should I accept?

Started by
7 comments, last by Rutin 4 years, 3 months ago

Some background info because my situation is different from most indie devs. Wall of text incoming:

I’m from a 3rd world country with almost no gamedev industry to speak of. I know of only 1 semi successful indie dev in my country. He/she was lucky enough to get a foreign publisher interested enough to port his game to most major platforms. He/she is a solo dev. There are no major game dev studios here. All the ones I know are crappy mobile game studios that make clones. This is the state of things here.

As for me, I am a CS student at a public university. I’m not broke but I do not have a credit card. I literally cannot buy Unity assets because I can’t pay them(and I want to). Even then, I’m not exactly rich either.

I happened to participate in a local game competition(the only one I’ve seen in the last two years). It was arranged by a local IT startup who probably wanted to branch out from their work. My own entry was somewhat crappy but due to the low number of actual submissions I got picked and I got a deal for my game to be published by them (it was promised as a reward for the competition).

I have not asked for any contract details yet. I probably won't be able to anyways because NDAs are likely. But they did confirm that:

They would help with porting to Android, PC and the Appstore. The last one is big for me because I do not own any Apple devices to develop on. Due to the ridiculous amount of tax on Apple products I probably never will.

They will not pay me directly. But they will bear development costs to an extent. Considering my situation, any monetary support would be beneficial.