Industry design professionals to be a mentor

Started by
7 comments, last by GeneralJist 1 year, 8 months ago

I am a student at Full Sail University in the Game Design Bachelors of Science online course. I am looking for any professional in the industry that would be able to step in as a mentor for me to give me pointers to be successful in the industry. As well as being a mentor, since I am taking classes currently, I may also have some assignments that require me to interview a professional in my industry where I would have to ask some questions based on your successes or your path to success. I do have the Epic Games Launcher and Unreal Engine installed on my laptop so I can try to learn the industry software, both on my own time and for when I need to have it for my actual classes.

None

Advertisement

My advice is to try and gain information from a wide selection of sources, rather than to have a mentor. The problem with mentors is that you get a very specific and limited set of advice based on their personal experience, and that may not apply to you. Also they may have biases or preferences that work for them but may be a problem for you.

Also, professionals are, by their very nature, quite busy! It's simply not possible for every student to be able to have good access to a mentor in industry. Thankfully, it really isn't necessary.

Please do feel free to ask questions here, whether that's about how to get into the industry or more technical and specific questions. But use the search function here and search engines, because almost every question has been asked before, and you can benefit from the accumulated wisdom of all the previous comments.

@Kylotan