AI PVPer in Silkroad Online

Started by
2 comments, last by SandSnip3r 4 years, 1 month ago

Introduction

Hello! My occupation is a C++ software developer in autonomous driving. I'm in the process of creating a bot for the old Korean MMORPG called Silkroad Online. I'm very interested in creating the strongest PVP opponent possible using AI. I'm looking for general guidance in the form of people's ideas, topics to research, or similar existing projects that give insights.

Relevant background on Silkroad Online

PVP in Silkroad Online is pretty straight forward. You and your opponent use skills to attack the other player, use skills to buff yourself, and use lots of potions to heal your health and mana. Movement isn't really an aspect of PVPing. From the player's perspective, all you do is press a button to use a skill, and if you're out of range, the character will automatically run to the target if out of range, then use the skill. During the fight, a character can be under certain statuses where they cannot do anything, have lower defense, or have lower damage for example. Some character builds switch between weapons frequently throughout the fight to use skills from different weapon masteries. Skills have cool downs which are of varying lengths. Damage is not a simple subject as I think the formulae are not yet completely understood. The skills that an enemy has aren't apparent until you witness them use the skills.

Capabilities of my bot

My bot acts as a network proxy between the game client and game server. All communication between the two is observable. I can also inject any network data as if the player were controlling the character or if the server were sending updates. Therefore, just about any information that can be seen in the game client, I can also have. The bot is an event-driven architecture. When a packet arrives from the client or server, it's distributed to all subscribed components who then parse it and act upon the data.