Looking for hobbyists interested in making a game

Started by
0 comments, last by JeeCharns 4 years, 1 month ago

Hello all!

Thank you for reading this, my day job is working as a UX Designer (www.georgecharnley.com) but I am between jobs and have a few weeks free as I am isolated at home!

I'm looking for some like minded people who are interested in having fun and working together on a game in Unity. No pressure, no time commitment required and a supportive environment. We currently have two developers who have started working on the project.

I've dabbled in Unity on and off for a few years - I have a few unfinished hobby 2D projects, have worked on an unfinished game as a 3D texture artist and was lucky enough to get a week of work experience at Rare Studios a few years ago (when they were prototyping Sea of Thieves in Unity!).

In 2019 I had an idea for a game that would be (relatively) easy to prototype in Unity. It's a heavily simplified RTS that relies on emergent gameplay from a small number of varied unit types that counter each other in interesting ways. The way I would describe it is like a real-time version of chess. I tried building it myself, but couldn't nail the programming.

While I have lots of ideas for game design, Im not protective about the idea and would love to collaborate with everyone involved on gameplay ideas. I have documentation ready and a clear vision in mind for how to get a bare-bones MVP up and running. (Essentially a ‘King’ type piece, and ‘pawns’, with a simple win condition - Capture opponent's ‘King’). After that it would be about play testing, having fun and building on the game from there.

What I can contribute is Project Management (Kanban / Trello style), asset design for the game (Blender), texture art (Photoshop), UI Design (my day job), play testing (UX Research also my day job) and a bottomless pit of ideas. I have used C# and would love to learn more.