Accuracy mechanic in an MMO game

Started by
9 comments, last by Yunus Emre 6 years, 3 months ago

I am a beginner in the Game Dev business, however I plan to build a futuristic MMO with some interesting mechanics.

However, I have some doubts about shooting mechanics that I chose for this game and would like to know your opinion on this. The mechanic goes as follows:

- Each gun would have it's damage-per-shot value
- Each gun would have it's shots-per-second value
- Each gun would have it's accuracy rating

Now the question is: how to calculate the output damage? I have three available options:

1) Calculate the chance of each shot hitting the target (per-shot accuracy)

2) Multiply the damage output of a weapon by it's accuracy rating (weapon with 50% accuracy deals 50% of it's base damage)

3) Don't use accuracy at all and just adjust the weapon damage output

Which of these three mechanics would you like to see in a game? Mind, this will be an MMO game, so it will have lock-on targets, AoE effects and all that jazz.

Advertisement

I like the sounds of #1.  May require more computing but it would make for a varied scenarios especially if the health of enemies and other players is low.  #2 sounds a lot like the kind of math you'd see in old browser games, but I'm not familiar with how other games go about calculating accuracy.  

#2 and #3 are effectively the same, differing only in what numbers are shown to the player -- unless you're also implementing some way to dynamically change a weapon's accuracy.

So yeah, I'd agree that #1 is more interesting.

2 hours ago, shelvick said:

#2 and #3 are effectively the same, differing only in what numbers are shown to the player -- unless you're also implementing some way to dynamically change a weapon's accuracy.

So yeah, I'd agree that #1 is more interesting.

Well, I plan for characters to have proficiencies, so the accuracy would change, as well as some buffs/nerfs that change the accuracy of the character.